Finally Built My Time Machine – And Threw It Away

Go back in time to an event you think could have played out differently for you. Let alternate history have its moment: tell us what could, would or should have happened?

This. Is. Epic!

I have the actual chance to hypothetically change my history as I know it. So what should I revisit and change? Juicy possibilities I contemplate, my prrrrescious…

I would:

  • GO BACK TO MY FIRST TEENAGE HAIRCUT AND GET A LESS NERDY ONE
  • BECOME SIX YEARS OLD AGAIN AND AVOID GETTING CROW-PHOBIC
  • BECOME 5 YEARS OLD AGAIN AND HAVE EVERY MORAL POSSIBLE INSTILLED IN ME
  • GO BACK TO 2011 AND APPLY TO COLLEGE ALL OVER AGAIN
  • RE-LIVE LAST YEAR AND NOT LOSE ANY FRIENDS..

BUT…(there’s always one)

If I went back and got a hotter haircut, with polished hair, a fringe and green dye, I would probably have much less hair now..and a whole lot of clothes that don’t really resemble actual clothing..

If I went to the point in time where I was attacked by crows, and changed it so that I wouldn’t get that paralyzing phobia, I wouldn’t have overcome anything by now. I wouldn’t be any stronger.

If I had all the morals in the world instilled into me, I would probably only see the world in shades of black and white. I would be self-righteous and would probably turn my nose up at free love and LGBTQ support movements. I’m glad I grew up as I did, because the ‘proper’ morals might have made me rigid and close minded, and very hateful to people.

If I went back a year and re-applied to a million colleges and actually got in, I would have missed out some of the very best moments this year had to offer. I wouldn’t have been here for an amazing cousin’s wedding, my sister’s 14th birthday, I wouldn’t have learnt so much more about myself. The personal statements I wrote this year are so much more mature than the ones I jotted down last year. They actually give a sense of who I am. I know who I am, and can confidently tell you, unlike last year.

And if I went back and didn’t lose all the friends that I have, I would now be a bad judge of character and wouldn’t know how to see good people from the ones that want to harm you and I wouldn’t have become closer to the friends I know are genuine and constantly there for me.

So, if I could go back to any situation at all, I would re-live it, but I wouldn’t change a single thing. This is God’s plan for me, and I have faith that I’m going the right way :D.

Comment If You Like Cookies :D

