Prince Charming Doesn’t Come With A Checklist, Just A ‘To-Do’

A friend of mine was recently talking about ‘Mr. Perfect’, the ‘Ideal Guy’, etc etc. And she gave me a list of everything he should be, from a girl’s perspective. Lets just say I had an entirely different view of the matter.

14e4f3b6bf5dc83e053d08fb209221bb

Trait Number One:

He must always find you beautiful, even if you’re wearing three day old sweats and have your hair pushed up in a headband.

….? Anyone else see the incongruity in this concept? Would you like to meet your boyfriend/hired actor pretending to love you dressed in sweats? Or worse, would you want to see THEM wearing old clothes that reek? Wouldn’t it offend you that they didn’t think you worth the effort to dress up and look good? Maybe splash on some deodorant? Surely, you can do that too, no? Guys are called superficial and shallow, but come on. If you want him to love the ‘real you’, don’t deck yourself out in old pj’s and expect a ‘Hey, you’re gorgeous..’ anytime. Because he should be worth the effort, too. Wanting a pretty spouse isn’t a sin, its human nature. Come on.

Trait Number Two:

No matter how angry/mad/senile/witchy I get, he must always be my doormat, run after me opening doors and kissing my hand.

One question: Why? I read this one quote that explained this whole phenomena efficiently. “If you want him to be Prince Charming, you have to be worth his time, too.”

Girls I’ve talked to, expect hundred percent devotion even after acting out the worst PMS fueled rages and losing their marbles. If you’re not being understanding, why should he? Calling men ‘chauvinist pigs’, a very popular expression, because they don’t trail after you after you’ve yelled your little heart out is simply unfair.

Treat him how you want him to treat you. Short and sweet.

Trait Number Three:

He should open the car door for me every time, lay down the red carpet when I come home, and rub my feet.

Okay, feet rubbing I agree with, totally. You’d be hard pressed to find a girl who doesn’t want that particular favour. However, opening car doors every time? This is the 21st century, unless I’m mistaken. You won’t land in horse muck descending alone from your carriage if the guy doesn’t help you…you open your car door for yourself all the time, don’t you? Don’t get your feathers in a ruffle because someone isn’t providing you with express doorman/valet service. And if he likes opening the car door, well then you’ve hit the jackpot…unless he likes smashing it back so it crushes you (my little joke). Otherwise, don’t get mad over tiny things like this.

Trait Number Four:

This is in likeness to trait number two, but its important.

According to most girls, guys should not lash out at any time, ever. For anything.

Now, girls get mad and blame it on PMS, but if their significant/or non, as you like, lashes out for no reason, suddenly its verbal abuse.

Hold on. Do you see how ridiculous this is? No its not PMS that makes you act snarkyIts you. And if you can take out your bad temper on him, he can too, sometimes. Can’t HE be angry about something and be in a bad mood? Of course he can, because he’s human. And its not verbal abuse. Calm down.

Now I’m not saying every girl in the world functions according to these lines. But most do. There’s no ‘ideal’ guy; if there was, every girl in the world would want him. But everyone’s different, and so the person you think is perfect, IS, but for you. Not for anyone else. If they don’t fit into the neat boxes designed by stereotype, doesn’t make them imperfect. Makes them human.

You aren’t perfect either, Princess.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. singleabbie says:

    Love this post!
    While I’m not going to settle for less than I deserve, there are hundreds of romantics out there that have their little ‘list’ of must haves’! Grow up girls, this is the real world – and these fantasy Prince Charmings don’t exist in it.
    Thank you for keeping it real. ~ Abbie ~

    1. Viva Violet says:

      Thank you for reading :D. And yes, I’ve met so many people with huge checklists that go on for ever. I mean, how can a human being be that perfect? 😮

  2. Clark Kent says:

    It took me a long time to figure out what a girl wants and needs, I did so all wrong, It gave me a warped perception because I didn’t know myself or even know what love was inside myself… Wonderfully put into words!

    1. Viva Violet says:

      Yes, quite a lot of guys find themselves confused on that point. We all have different expectations from the other. Thank you so much for reading and commenting 😀

      1. Clark Kent says:

        Awe thank you my friend! 😉

Comment If You Like Cookies :D

