I’ve Known Superman For 18 Years…

Daily Prompt: My Hero

Hi, Dad.

You’re my hero

A real life Superman

I believed in you when I was four

I still believed when I turned ten

And I kept believing

From there on out.

You’re the one who said

“Read the newspaper, baby.”

When I didn’t care what happened in the world,

– and just played with Barbies.

But now, I want history

I want politics, and presidency

Because of newspapers

Because of you.

People say I’m smart, and I

Tell them I’m my dad’s daughter

– after all.

There are celebrities, and then there are idols

And then there’s you

You’re the one who told me

JAWS was a metal fish,

and

Freddy and Jason weren’t real

So I could sleep at night,

All my terrors dispelled.

I wanted to be a designer

A lawyer

A princess

You discussed them all, never flinching

And gave me solid plans

Foolproof. Like you.

When I’m a hundred years old

And own half the world (according to plan)

I’ll look back and say

“Thank you, dad”

Heroes have one fatal weakness

My sisters and I

Are your kryptonite

That Achilles heel which can’t be conquered

But we won’t let you fall

Just like you

Never let us break.

 I love you.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2012/12/09/daily-prompt-my-hero/

12 Comments Add yours

  1. yerpirate says:

    That’s just beautiful..

    1. Viva Violet says:

      Its honest. :). Thank you so much

      1. yerpirate says:

        Well, I am a father of 3 daughters, so this poem really his home.

      2. Viva Violet says:

        Dads are the best. And dads who make their daughters feel like princesses are the absolute best 🙂

      3. yerpirate says:

        Oh such wonderful words. Of course I absolutely adore those Princesses!
        (ps – should have been ‘poem hits home’)

  2. Awww… I’m daddy’s princess too.

    1. Viva Violet says:

      Its the best kind of princess to be ❤ 😀

  3. I’m a bit jealous. My parents are by no means lacking, but unfortunately i can’t say they’ve had as much impact on my life as your dad seems to have had on yours.

    1. Viva Violet says:

      Hahah, I feel like he’s both my mom and dad sometimes. Like I said, my difficult relationship with my mom exists. So maybe I got dealt an extra awesome dad to make up for that?

  4. cshowers says:

    Beautiful! – What a wonderful relationship you must have with your dad. 🙂

    Blessings,
    Cheryl

    1. Viva Violet says:

      Thank you so much. Yes I do, he’s always been my role model, support and sometimes mom, all in one :).

Comment If You Like Cookies :D

