How To Get Rich Quick…!

If you ask kids what their favourite board games are, they’ll most probably answer with Candy Land, Hungry Hungry Hippos or Snakes and Ladders. I was one of the children who listed the following in my favourites; Chess, Scrabble and especially Monopoly.

Monopoly. In which we could all become rich, very fast. Being honest, it was no less than an adrenaline rush for me, rolling the dice, stacking up one property after another and collecting the stations, for the best rent. My sisters and I play it quite often still, and cousins too, and all of us shout in frustration if the other lands on, and buys the most coveted property of all: Mayfair.

Those were simpler times though. Monopoly was the one game that united my family and gave us a few fun infused hours in the bargain. My mom and I never agreed on anything, except when we were playing Monopoly. Then we teamed up against my dad and made sure we won! We even stole some money from him once, and then made puppy eyes when he asked for it back. My dad has been living abroad since I was 11. I miss him everyday, and I remember when he used to play Monopoly with me all those years ago. Still one of my best memories.

My Monopoly got tattered and old, and I had to put it to rest. And so I did something I normally would not do. I went and bought another set online. I usually don’t spend money online for trivial things like board games, but in this case, I felt it was worth it. Monopoly Classic Edition is still the best board game for me. It literally united my family and gave me some really good memories.

monopoly-board

*If you want to purchase Monopoly Classic at a bargain, head on to Amazon. Click here.

12 Comments Add yours

  1. I’d probably need to buy one online , too. I’ve been looking for the classic one for a while. We used to play a lot the past summer at a friend’s house.

    1. Viva Violet says:

      Yes, its a better option than scouring a hundred stores. Ahh, summers with Monopoly and friends. For me, it doesn’t get much better than that 😀

      1. …and apricots directly from the tree :)))

      2. Viva Violet says:

        Sounds amazingly blissful.. 😀

  2. yolonce12 says:

    I nominated you for the ‘ Beautiful Blogger Award’
    congratulations!
    🙂

    1. Viva Violet says:

      Ohmygod thank you so so much! 😀

  3. The only thing I hate about monopoly is how the others are never quite the greedy capitalists they should be. It takes hours for someone to go broke, because they keep getting second chances.

    1. Viva Violet says:

      Hahahah, that’s so true! I remember when my sister nearly went bankrupt with only a ₤10 note left, we gave her bank ‘loans’ so she could keep playing :P. Capitalism gets countered with affection, I think, which makes playing the game so much better! 😀

  4. mintedmoose says:

    I too loved monopoly, i still do. i’m a huge fan of monopoly deal too. Another childhood fave of mine was game of life xXx

    1. Viva Violet says:

      I love Life too! I still play Monopoly all the time but you know what? I can’t find many people willing to play it anymore. I wonder why that is 😦

      1. mintedmoose says:

        I blame computer games, they just dont bring people together as much as a good old fashioned board game. I reember I used to sit with my brother and his girlfriend when i was about 8 and play monopoly. Now my friends txt me asking to go online xXx

      2. Viva Violet says:

        Me too! aww that sounds like quite a memory. Board games bring everyone together. And yes, thats exactly what happens now. If I ask someone to play Chess etc with me, they literally laugh and ask me to go play it by myself on the computer :s

Comment If You Like Cookies :D

