…Meanwhile, In Lahore: Humans Are The Worst Kind Of Animals

I feel so lucky.

Last night, on my way home I saw something on the road that instantly made me want to cry and be grateful simultaneously. He was a man, and not one at the same time. He crawled on all fours, walking like an animal, in between the cars, begging for change. When he ran, he ran like… (forgive me God), like a dog running from the whip. This was not a stunt or a gimmick, it was one of the worse casualties seen in Lahore.

Orphans and strays and children born but not needed are picked up or bought by these ‘business men’ who then use a number of crude tools to deform their bodies. An eye is taken out to be replaced by a glass marble, a limb is distorted so painfully that walking is impossible, a spine is crushed and so is spirit.

I once heard a case in which a man kidnapped over a hundred children, and mutilated their lower backs so they could only walk on all fours. To add to this, he also severed part of their jugular vein so they lost the power of speech, and could only make illegible noises. And then he sent them out, to beg and roam and bring him money. His silent apostles.

The man I saw last night was bent completely over, crawling like no human is ever meant to. He must have been a stray, someone’s long forgotten child. Born in pain, and born to pain. Begging on cold streets amidst cars he can never drive, for he can never sit up straight.  He must collect change and writhe back to his lord master, in order to retain a roof over his head…for who else will give amnesty to such a freak?

Dear Teenagers Who Think They Have Problems:

Stop self harm. Wake up from your depression. This is real self mutilation. Look at how good you have it, and be grateful.

Count your blessings, count your blessings, count your blessings…till your fingers give way. But don’t stop being thankful.

Image

11 Comments Add yours

  1. cgraw12 says:

    I honestly don’t know what to say about this post. I can’ t believe that this sort of thing happens. It blows my mind. I wish there was something I could do to help.

    1. Viva Violet says:

      I know. Its hard to believe everyday people can be this cruel. Honestly, animals are better than these sort of humans. And the worst part is that the victims of these distortions are beyond reach and help..

      1. cgraw12 says:

        How is this happening? I can’t fathom a world where this kind of thing occurs? Where is the government, the police etc. when these kinds of things are occuring?

      2. Viva Violet says:

        Its a third world country. A bribe in the right hand, and everyone looks away. I swear, humanity is the almost extinct in this place. The police are involved also…

      3. cgraw12 says:

        My heart honestly breaks for your country. I had no idea it was that bad. Humanity may be almost dead in your country but it is alive in the U.S. I wish I could help in some way. You certainly are. Your blog raises awareness of the atrocities that are happening. I’ve learned a lot reading your blog. Thank you for sharing. Keep up the good work and don’t get discouraged!

      4. Viva Violet says:

        There are people who try to help, but how can you help when the authorities themselves are bribed and present the worst hindrance? Yes, that’s what I’m trying to do. I hope I can tell people and direct some prayers, if not physical help towards the less fortunate.
        Please keep reading, its wonderful people such as yourself who keep me encouraged.

  2. duncanr says:

    There’s a lot of bad people about preying on those less fortunate than themselves. It’s good to remember that when we think sometimes that we have problems – there are people who have much worse off than us !

    1. Viva Violet says:

      Exactly. Thats what I was trying to get across. I see so many people wasting their lives and throwing good things away. This was a wake up call for me and I hope for other people too.

  3. Couldn’t agree more, sometimes we get caught up with trivial things and forget to see the bigger picture,

  4. People everywhere need to read a message so invaluable like this one.

    1. Viva Violet says:

      Its one of the hundreds of awful things that happen here everyday. And yes, there are people who really really need to be grateful.

Comment If You Like Cookies :D

