Who’s Idea Of Perfect Are You? Or, Why Anorexia Has Become A Must-Have

“She had sooty lashes that formed a thick fringe around her gently moulded almond shaped eyes, which flashed sea green when she was calm, and turned to darker jade when troubled. Her tiny waist needed no corset, rather it would’ve been a constriction, a cage for her lively spirit, which gleamed through every graceful curve and hollow of her slender body. She was a captivating beauty.”

…Hold on. Where do these girls live?

Who are these girls who know seven languages, have sparkling wit, eyes that could kill and a waist so tiny it can be encircled with one hand? Everything they do is a masterpiece, and their foibles aren’t actually flaws; they’re just a product of bad timing or an agitated spirit.

Girls today have unbelievably unrealstic idols to live up to. I mean, my legs don’t start from my neck, I look fat in some clothes, skinny in some, and my hair isn’t always a ‘pile of fragrant rich mahogany just tumbling off my polished white shoulders.’ Who in the world looks perfect in everything?

No, I haven’t been nibbling on sour grapes, but I have been thinking. You can only be someone’s idea of perfect. Universal perfection is a standard that isn’t humanly possible. I mean, and this is purely tongue in cheek, Princess Diana was a wonderful, graceful spirit, but some might have wished for her to grow her hair. She wasn’t the ‘perfect’ ideal for say, girls who couldn’t care less about the royalty, or girls with violently dyed hair who have angst.

Audrey Hepburn, my idol, the epitome of feminine charm, died of cancer. Marilyn Monroe was unhappy, took her own life. Clearly, perfection is unattainable.

I am, more or less, an everyday teenage girl. I always feel like I could stand to lose a few pounds and gain a few inches.. I feel like I’m not perfect, and my legs don’t look good in skinny jeans. But I’m going to be somebody’s idea of perfect one day. Everyone is.

If all of us were perfect, no one would be.

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Chyina says:

    Beautifully put. Besides, society’s standards change so often it could make your head spin. There was a time when plumper and paler was what men wanted. Compared to the bone thin and suntanned figures that are more apparent today. It took me most of my life but I finally came to a point where I said, “fuck it, I am who I am, someone somewhere is going to think that’s perfect, and even if they don’t I still like the way I look (most times) for … fuck it.” 😉

    Ps. My idol is Morticia Addams. >:)

    1. Viva Violet says:

      Exactly. If you look at Bollywood actresses, they’re quite voluptuous, with curves and everything. In that part of the world, to be stick skinny is literally offensive. And I appreciate the fact that you decided to love yourself as you are, because I firmly believe that stretching yourself out to be everyone’s idea of perfect would damn near kill you.
      And Morticia Addams is just way cool 😛

  2. Audrey Hepburn is brilliant! I love Roman Holiday. What’s your favourite?

    1. Viva Violet says:

      I agree! I have two actually. Breakfast at Tiffany’s and The Children’s Hour. 🙂

      1. 😀 I haven’t seen The Children’s Hour yet – I’ll have to get it on DVD.

  3. nevzikitty says:

    You are my idea of perfection ❤

    1. Viva Violet says:

      And you are a kitty face doggie love ❤

  4. I just could not agree more! P.S skinny jeans looks great on you! :0

    1. Viva Violet says:

      You would say that because you are my best friend. But I love you, and you’re my idea of perfect ❤

      1. And you’re my idea of perfect of course. ❤

  5. madimccarthy97 says:

    Such a true post! I’m sick to death of seeing teenage girls following each other like a flock of sheep all to fit in with each others ideas of perfect. It’s rather pathetic to see a whole group of girls with the same dyed hair colour, same fake nails, same caked on make up, pulling their skirts higher and talking in a similar manner just to maintain a reputation that they’d be better off without.

    1. Viva Violet says:

      I know! When I was in school, I met girls who gave themselves bulimia on purpose, trying to lose babyfat and water weight and something or the other. They did look like copies of each other, and tried to attract guys by hitching on endlesss pouts and pulling down their necklines. I think people should focus more on being beautiful on the inside, and staying happy and content, instead of plastering their faces…and yes, ruining their reputations too.

Comment If You Like Cookies :D

