Ghetto Harry Potter Meets Gay Mr. Darcy

I’ve always admired writers who can dabble in fiction. I myself, although not a writer yet, have never approached the imaginary world, at least not on paper.

More than fiction, however, I’m curious about fan fiction. Taking up another’s original idea, concept and theme and adding your own version it. So Harry Potter could be black, Pip could be Indian, and heck, Mr. Darcy and Mr. Bingley could be a gay couple. Anything can happen with fan fiction. And that is why it’s such a scary, uncharted path.

Imagine if someone were writing fan fiction about your life, or mine, or my next door neighbor’s. Maybe in a fictional world, you are my next door neighbor. If I could tweak my life, of course I’d pinch this, pull that and make all the loose ends fit together. The problem with that though, is that by fixing the tiny things, I’d ruin the bigger picture.

So for example, if I changed my fate and went to Harvard, per say, maybe I’d get a stellar degree, but miss meeting the love of my life in my current college. Or perhaps if I gave myself longer legs and daintier features, I’d find I had more fair weather friends than genuine ones. Anything can change fate. Even a full stop at the end of your sentence. However, just like time travel, rewriting fate is not advisable. Because, we all know everything is interlinked in the finest, tiniest of ways. It’s the old saying… “If a butterfly flaps its wings…”

I like to think there’s a plan for all of us; our fate is ultimately good, and there’s a reason we don’t have the option to edit, cut and paste in real life.

Oh, and you know, like time travel, there’s always the possibility of a dinosaur hiding out in your time machine and slaughtering everyone in your house. Which is why I think I’m safer with fan fiction.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jeyna Grace says:

    A fan fic about yourself? hmmm… that sounds rather interesting.

    1. Viva Violet says:

      Intriguing, no? To rewrite your life? 😀

Comment If You Like Cookies :D

