The Red Lipstick Debate

For the last two days whenever I’ve dug into my book bag for a pen, I’ve invariably found a red lipstick pencil. 

Hmm. 

I might be the living breathing embodiment of the education vs looks debate. Do people automatically assume a pretty girl will be incompetent? Or is it the other way around?

It’s a curious concept, brains vs beauty. Feminists might argue the former is more important, and vice versa. 

My argument is: why not both? Be smart without being completely hideous. If my pen and lipstick can live side by side peacefully, so can this debate. 

Make up won’t dumb you down, it’ll make you presentable. And all the brilliant ideas in your head can follow can’t they? What I cannot understand are women who think walking in with sloppy hair and mismatched clothes makes them look more intelligent, busier. No. 

Pick up a lipstick pencil once in while.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Malaika says:

    This annoys me so much! I love my red lip pencil as well as my pen and the smell of new books. What’s wrong with that? People get shocked when they see an A on my exams. Just because I like making a little effort on how I look. Racist people :p

    1. Viva Violet says:

      I know! So many people automatically assume I’m incompetent because of make up and especially if I put on red lipstick. What is with people? 😛

Comment If You Like Cookies :D

