Watermelon for breakfast

Today I had watermelon for breakfast.

I had eggs in the morning

– but that was a year ago.

Yellow omelette with green pepper flecks;

the ting of the toaster

the maid’s brown hands on the crusty bread.

Baba at the table:

two silver forks on his plate;

one waiting for me.

*

I flew 2000 miles

to eat watermelon for breakfast;

buried myself in a sea of paper.

I drink coffee as dark as ink

in the yellow mug that travelled with me.

– I chipped the rim last week

and the Badshahi Mosque has almost faded.

I might eat eggs for breakfast

on a Styrofoam plate with a plastic fork;

my mornings don’t have pinstriped shirts

or lingering aftershave-smell.

*

Baba, I miss eating from your plate.

One Comment Add yours

  1. bilalsidiki says:

    i Didnt read the poem – but i like Watermelons in breakfast 😋

Comment If You Like Cookies :D

