On Katniss and Tampons

Whenever I read a book, I think of the strangest things.

For example, when I read Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, I kept thinking about Hermione and what she would do when she got her period. Out there in the woods with two boys for company, freezing in the snow. Did she have tampons? A magical menstruation-away spell? Was she PMS-ing at any time? Was Ron, when he left them in the middle?

Or let’s talk about Katniss. Okay, Hermione had magical powers with which she straightened out her hair and shrunk her front teeth, but Katniss didn’t. What did she do, during the Hunger Games? Was it just like, “Oh, Katniss is about to get her period, get the sparkly tampons that also shoot fire and put on a show…” I don’t know.

Alright so writers can’t exactly cover all their bases but forget this specific girl issue. What about shaving, waxing, plucking, threading and the myriad of other real-life procedures that all girls I know have to have at least every two weeks? I mean, have you thought about it?

Imagine Ginny with a bushy unibrow that sprouted while she was busy running Dumbledore’s Army. Or Hermione with leg stubble because she forgot to pack her razor. Or Katniss with a furry upper lip because who can afford to get threaded in District 13?

I barely manage to shave my legs once in two weeks and that’s if I need to go out, or wear something that’ll show my legs. I often forget to get my eyebrows threaded – an unfortunate occurrence at best – or get my arms waxed because I have so many other things to do. Imagine just being hairless, period less, PMS-less, basically, just a genetically modified pristine human being always. But I guess that’s why fiction exists. Because who wants to imagine Hermione fussing around with a tampon, or trying to soothe razor bumps?

Actually, that would make for a good, albeit different, read.

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Yusra says:

    Was Ron, when he left in the middle? HAHAHAAHAHA YES that would explain a lot

  2. stanjour_ says:

    Someone finally said it. So I’m not the only one who thinks about this sort of things :’D

  3. Ruma Dak says:

    lol! my thoughts too!!

  4. Zen A. says:

    Haha, you’re not the only one! I always wonder about those things. It must be so terribly convenient to never need to do all these things!

Comment If You Like Cookies :D

